Putin signs bill tightening government grip on the Russian Internet

An intense man in a suit.

Enlarge / Russian President Vladimir Putin speaks on April 27, 2019, in Beijing. (credit: Mikhail Svetlov/Getty Images)

Russian President Vladimir Putin has signed a controversial “Internet sovereignty” bill that strengthens the government’s control over the Russian Internet.

Back in March, we reported on Putin signing two other bills that gave the Russian government the power to punish people for online publication of fake news and insults to public officials. The latest bill focuses lower on the technology stack.

The New America Foundation published a detailed analysis of the bill back in February:

Read 5 remaining paragraphs | Comments

Putin signs bill tightening government grip on the Russian Internet published first on https://medium.com/@HDDMagReview

Author: DigiCrunch

I have keen interest in learning about technology, I always try to explore new things and I write articles and reviews on newly released products. As a technology blogger from last 6 years, I have earned a huge industry exposure across the domains. I am associated with many companies, I give feedback to the company owners about their product based on research I do. It will help the company to provide better product to the customers. I am even associated with leading technological blogs and website and do a guest posts for them.